FCCC LOGO Faculty Publications
Merryman RW , Carreau NA , Advani RH , Spinner MA , Herrera AF , Chen R , Tomassetti S , Ramchandren R , Hamid M , Assouline S , Santiago R , Wagner-Johnston N , Paul S , Svoboda J , Bair SM , Barta SK , Liu Y , Nathan S , Karmali R , Burkart M , Torka P , David KA , Wei C , Lansigan F , Emery L , Persky D , Smith SM , Godfrey J , Chavez J , Cohen JB , Troxel AB , Diefenbach C , Armand P
Impact of Treatment Beyond Progression with Immune Checkpoint Blockade in Hodgkin Lymphoma
Oncologist. 2020 Jun;25(6) :e993-e997
PMID: 32275786    PMCID: PMC7288660    URL: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/32275786
Back to previous list
Atypical response patterns following immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) in Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) led to the concept of continuation of treatment beyond progression (TBP); however, the longitudinal benefit of this approach is unclear. We therefore performed a retrospective analysis of 64 patients treated with ICB; 20 who received TBP (TBP cohort) and 44 who stopped ICB at initial progression (non-TBP cohort). The TBP cohort received ICB for a median of 4.7 months after initial progression and delayed subsequent treatment by a median of 6.6 months. Despite receiving more prior lines of therapy, the TBP cohort achieved longer progression-free survival with post-ICB treatment (median, 17.5 months vs. 6.1 months, p = .035) and longer time-to-subsequent treatment failure, defined as time from initial ICB progression to failure of subsequent treatment (median, 34.6 months vs. 9.9 months, p = .003). With the limitations of a retrospective study, these results support the clinical benefit of TBP with ICB for selected patients.
Merryman, Reid W. Carreau, Nicole A. Advani, Ranjana H. Spinner, Michael A. Herrera, Alex F. Chen, Robert Tomassetti, Sarah Ramchandren, Radhakrishnan Hamid, Muhammad Assouline, Sarit Santiago, Raoul Wagner-Johnston, Nina Paul, Suman Svoboda, Jakub Bair, Steven M. Barta, Stefan K. Liu, Yang Nathan, Sunita Karmali, Reem Burkart, Madelyn Torka, Pallawi David, Kevin A. Wei, Catherine Lansigan, Frederick Emery, Lukas Persky, Daniel Smith, Sonali M. Godfrey, James Chavez, Julio Cohen, Jonathan B. Troxel, Andrea B. Diefenbach, Catherine Armand, Philippe Troxel, Andrea/0000-0002-1393-3075; Diefenbach, Catherine/0000-0003-1116-3246; Merryman, Reid/0000-0002-6360-3234 1549-490x Oncologist. 2020 Jun;25(6):e993-e997. doi: 10.1634/theoncologist.2020-0040. Epub 2020 Apr 28.