FCCC LOGO Faculty Publications
Mohler JL , Armstrong AJ , Bahnson RR , Boston B , Busby JE , D'Amico AV , Eastham JA , Enke CA , Farrington T , Higano CS , Horwitz EM , Kantoff PW , Kawachi MH , Kuettel M , Lee RJ , MacVicar GR , Malcolm AW , Miller D , Plimack ER , Pow-Sang JM , Roach M , Rohren E , Rosenfeld S , Srinivas S , Strope SA , Tward J , Twardowski P , Walsh PC , Ho M , Shead DA
Prostate Cancer, Version 3.2012 Featured Updates to the NCCN Guidelines
Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network. 2012 Sep;10(9) :1081-1087
PMID: WOS:000308575200006   
Back to previous list
The NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology (NCCN Guidelines) for Prostate Cancer provide multidisciplinary recommendations for the clinical management of patients with prostate cancer. These NCCN Guidelines Insights highlight notable recent updates. Abiraterone acetate is a first-in-class hormonal agent that represents a new standard of care for patients with metastatic castration-recurrent prostate cancer who have previously received docetaxel (category 1 recommendation). Abiraterone acetate also received category 2B recommendations in the prechemotherapy setting for asymptomatic patients or symptomatic patients who are not candidates for docetaxel. The NCCN Prostate Cancer Panel also added new indications for existing agents, including the option of sipuleucel-T as second-line therapy. In addition, brachytherapy in combination with external beam radiation therapy with or without androgen deprivation therapy is now an alternative for patients with high-risk localized tumors or locally advanced disease. (JNCCN 2012;10:1081-1187)
Mohler, James L. Armstrong, Andrew J. Bahnson, Robert R. Boston, Barry Busby, J. Erik D'Amico, Anthony Victor Eastham, James A. Enke, Charles A. Farrington, Thomas Higano, Celestia S. Horwitz, Eric Mark Kantoff, Philip W. Kawachi, Mark H. Kuettel, Michael Lee, Richard J. MacVicar, Gary R. Malcolm, Arnold W. Miller, David Plimack, Elizabeth R. Pow-Sang, Julio M. Roach, Mack, III Rohren, Eric Rosenfeld, Stan Srinivas, Sandy Strope, Seth A. Tward, Jonathan Twardowski, Przemyslaw Walsh, Patrick C. Ho, Maria Shead, Dorothy A. 34 Harborside press Cold spring harbor 002yo