FCCC LOGO Faculty Publications
Svoboda J , Bair SM , Landsburg DJ , Dwivedy Nasta S , Nagle SJ , Barta SK , Khan N , Filicko-O'Hara J , Gaballa S , Strelec L , Chong E , Mitnick S , Waite TS , King C , Ballard H , Youngman M , Gerson J , Plastaras JP , Maity A , Bogusz AM , Hung SS , Nakamura H , Nejati R , Steidl C , Lim M , Ruella M , Schuster SJ
Brentuximab vedotin in combination with rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, and prednisone as frontline treatment for patients with CD30-positive B-cell lymphomas
Haematologica. 2021 Jun;106(6) :1705-1713
PMID: 32414850    PMCID: PMC8168499    URL: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/32414850
Back to previous list
We conducted a phase I/II multicenter trial using six cycles of brentuximab vedotin (BV) in combination with rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, and prednisone (R-CHP) for treatment of patients with CD30-positive B-cell lymphomas. Thirty-one patients were evaluable for toxicity and 29 for efficacy including 22 with primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma, five with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, and two with gray zone lymphoma. There were no treatment-related deaths; 32% of patients had non-hematologic grade 3/4 toxicities. The overall response rate was 100% (95% confidence interval [95% CI]: 88-100) with 86% (95% CI: 68-96) of patients achieving complete response at the end of systemic treatment. Consolidative radiation following end-of-treatment response assessment was permissible and used in 52% of all patients including 59% of the patients with primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma. With a median follow-up of 30 months, the 2-year progression-free survival and overall survival rates were 85% (95% CI: 66-94) and 100%, respectively. In the cohort with primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma, the 2-year progression-free survival rate was 86% (95% CI: 62-95). In summary, BV-R-CHP with or without consolidative radiation is a feasible and active frontline regimen for CD30-positive Bcell lymphomas.
Svoboda, Jakub Bair, Steven M. Landsburg, Daniel J. Nasta, Sunita Dwivedy Nagle, Sarah J. Barta, Stefan K. Khan, Nadia Filicko-O'Hara, Joanne Gaballa, Sameh Strelec, Lauren Chong, Elise Mitnick, Sheryl Waite, Terease S. King, Cara Ballard, Hatcher Youngman, Matthew Gerson, James Plastaras, John P. Maity, Amit Bogusz, Agata M. Hung, Stacy S. Nakamura, Hisae Nejati, Reza Steidl, Christian Lim, Megan Ruella, Marco Schuster, Stephen J. Lim, Megan/0000-0002-0415-2867